Math Time

So over the summer we took a small break from doing our usual lessons and I decided to concentrate on Math skills. I made everything fun and exciting and new for him. We kicked everything off with a water balloon toss. He needed to toss the balloon into the correct color shaped hula lei. Let me just say that trying to form geometric shapes with lei’s was a bad idea, next time I attempt this I will use dive circles for the pool.
Lil J had tons of fun with this activity. I called out the colors and shapes and he would toss the balloon. Warning side putting a water balloon in a child’s hand  can lead to you being the target of a huge balloon fight.

As you can see he decided to just throw them at me first before actually doing the activity.

Lil J knows his numbers up to 45, but we are reviewing all numbers so I took out a cookie sheet activity to work on 1 to 1 correspondence, quantity and number recognition.
I love this magnetic activity because he also recognized insects from our insect study theme.

Insect Sensory Bin 

 
Lil J loves working with his sandpaper letters and I decided to take out his sandpaper numbers finally. I gave him a lesson on how to use them and then I let him begin his work. He worked on this activity for almost 25 mins they were a big hit!
 
I decided to our Melissa and Doug Big Button activity on his shelf to see if he would work with it. After breakfast he went over to his shelf and pulled it down. He did really well with it and asked for help after he got to the 4th board. I really like this game because it uses great shape manipulatives.
We did so many activites over the last few weeks that he enjoyed. He even asked to repeat some of them over the course of the last few weeks.

Shape Bingo

Butterfly Counting (from Confessions of a Homeschooler)

One of my favorite activities was the Lakeshore Learning Math Tin. We played with this together for almost 45 mins going through all the cards. His favorite card was the fish bowl card.
It’s great that we were able to get in so many activites. I made a lot of observation notes and determined what skills we needed to work on and those that he has fully mastered.
Until next!
 
Mama Montessori and Lil J
Leave a Reply

