Hello 2017 and Update !!

I don’t know about you but I am glad that 2016 has come and gone.  We had a very busy year filled with new opportunities and major changes. In August I started Little Learners University in home preschool which has turned out to be a great success we also celebrated Lil J 1 year of being seizure free in Septemeber.  October kicked off my training for International Baccalaureate P.Y.P facilitator.  November was full of surprises Lil J turned 4 years old and officially began his studies as a kindergartener. We enjoyed a quiet holiday season at home this year and today is the last day of Kwanzaa for us.

So let me see if I can do quick run down the earlier months.  We enjoyed many S.T.E.M related lessons and we continued our studies with Montessori-inspired learning and preschool.  During the summer we enjoyed many fun outings and spending time with nature and exploring. The Spring we learned about caterpillars and watching them turn into beautiful butterflies and then setting them free. Lil J was enthralled with everything earthworms and anything to do with the solar system over the summer.  The Winter provided tons of fun with our study of Antartica, penguins, and polar bears and back by popular demand we are kicking 2017 off again with Antartica.


I finally took the plunge over the last 2 weeks and settled on Math and Language Arts curriculum for Lil J, don’t worry we will still be doing all our hands on activities, I just decided it was time to move on to some more support materials for him.

So here is our 2017 Curriculum line up:

  • Math U See Primer – New for 2017
  • Hand Writing Without Tears
  • Language Together – Mandarin and Spanish
  • Oracy
  • KinderScience and KinderStem by Tara West
  • S.T.E.A.M Club
  • Lego Club – New for 2017
  • Learn to Read and Language Arts CEP- New for 2017
  • World Geography – Montessori-Inspired
  • Who is Books  Series and African American History
  • Logic/Critical Thinking  Activities

Whew sounds like a lot?  Trust me we rotate days for lessons. Every day our goal is to work on Math, Reading, and Writing our school day starts at 9 a.m and ends around 1 pm. During that time we play games, do hands-on activities and have lunch, do art projects, read aloud etc.. and some days we just blow off school and just hang out, run errands and cook together. Each day in our home is an adventure and I try to plan a fun day full of excitement and love.


How could I ever forget Lil J falling in love with all things Stars Wars and Legos, so now I am tripping over star wars figures and dodging legos on the floor.  Watching him grow over the last 4 years has been a joy, I think every mom has that moment when they look at their child and realize they aren’t that little toddler anymore and it makes you a little teary eyed. I had my moment last week and I balled… but I look at this way apparently I am doing a good job because I am I can tell you anything you want to know about Star Wars so I am in the cool moms club and anything I don’t know about Star Wars I have some Star Wars Mom veterans and friends to help me.

So as we continue on our journey for 2017 I wish all my readers Happy New Year and I look forward to blogging more this year.Remember you can always find us on Facebook, Instagram, and Youtube!

Warmest Regards,

Lil J and Mama Montessori!

Leave a Reply

